7:29 AM

New East Provincial Council CM to be sworn in at 4 PM today

The latest reports reveal that the new Chief Minister of the Eastern Province will be sworn in today at 4 PM Sri Lanka time. At present President Mahinda Rajapakse is meeting all the 18 newly elected UPFA members of the East Provincial Council.

The meeting is said to be a formal one for the newly elected members to get acquainted with the leadership of the UPFA as well as each others who are elected from different groups which are allied with the UPFA.

Furthermore it is learnt that UPFA leaders have not finalized the appointment of the two bonus seats in the Provincial council. News-Lanka learns that one seat will be given to TMVP to nominate someone from Trincomalee and another seat might go for a Sinhalese from Batticaloa.

When the Muslim leaders met the President Mahinda Rajapakse yesterday, it is learnt that they have put forward their proposals and President and the other UPFA leaders have agreed to consider today their proposals favorably.

The Muslim leaders who participated in the meeting were, A. L. M. Athaullah, Abdul Risath Bathiyutheen, Ameer Ali Sihabdeen, M. N. Abdul Majeed, M. M. Musthapha, K. Abdul Baiz, Faizer Mustapha, Hussein Bhaila, S. Nijamudeen, M.H. Mohomed, and A. H. M. Fowzie

On the Government side along with President Mahinda Rajapakse, his senior advisor Basil Rajapakse, Maithripala Srisena, Susil Premajayantha, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Champika Ranawaka, John Seneviratne, Rajitha Senaratne, Dallas Alahapperuma, Presidential Advisor A.H.M. Azwar also participated in the meeting.

News-Lanka learns that President Mahinda Rajapakse is expected to anounce the Chief Minister designate by 3 PM today (Sri Lanka time) and the new Chief Minister would be sworn in at the Temple trees by 4 PM today.