9:35 AM

Karuna sworn in as UPFA MP

Leader of the Thamil Makkal Viduthalai Puligal, Vinayagmoorthi Muralidaran, was sworn in as a Member of Parliament of the UPFA before Speaker W. J. M. Lokubandara in Parliament yesterday at 9.30 a.m.

Chief Minister Eastern Provincial Council Sivanesathurai Chandrakanthan and Mayoress of Batticaloa Sivageetha Prabhakaran were in the VIP Gallery of the House and a large number of the supporters of the TMVP were present in the public galleries at the time the new member was sworn in.

The Prime Minister, Ministers, Nimal Siripala de Silva, Douglas Devananda and several other government parliamentarians congratulated the new member after he was sworn in.